All eyes will be drawn this evening, Wednesday, to the “Stadion Energa Gdansk” stadium in Poland, to follow the European League final between Manchester United, England, and Villarreal, Spain.

The Red Devils are seeking to crown the continental title for the second time in their history, as they crowned the first title in 2017 at the expense of Ajax Amsterdam, while Villarreal hopes to win the first continental title in its history.

The slap of the champions
The Red Devils occupied third place in Group H, with 9 points, behind leaders Paris Saint-Germain and runners-up Leipzig, to turn their path to the European League.

Manchester United team

Manchester United started their European career this season, by participating in the Champions League, but was left early in the group stage.

United began their career in the Europa League from the round of 32, excluding Real Sociedad, then ousted Milan from the round of 16, and in the quarter-finals they overtook Granada, before crossing Rome in the semi-finals and deciding their qualification for the final match.

Manchester United seeks to be the fifth team in history to be excluded from the group stage of the Champions League and crowned in the European League, after Atletico Madrid (twice) in (2009-2010 and 2017-2018), Chelsea (2012-2013) season, and Seville season (2015-) 2016).

Spanish hurdle

Villareal Team

This final is the fourth in history, which brings together two parties from Spain and England, and has witnessed the supremacy of the Spanish clubs by winning twice in exchange for losing the title once.

The first final was the 2000-2001 season, which brought together Liverpool and Deportivo Alaves, and the Reds won and crowned the title.

The second finals were between Atletico Madrid and Fulham in 2010, and the Rojiblancos were crowned, and the last final was in 2016 between Seville and Liverpool, and the Andalusian team was crowned the title.

Villarreal is armed with his coach Unai Emery’s great experience in the tournament, as the Spanish coach led Sevilla to win the title for 3 seasons in a row, and also led Arsenal to reach the final of the tournament in the 2018-2019 season.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments