Manchester City hopes to have his name written in the record of Champions League winners, when he faces compatriot Chelsea in the final hosted by the Stade de Drago, the Portuguese stronghold of Porto.

Manchester City are chasing the Champions League title, since its ownership was transferred to the Abu Dhabi Investment Group in 2008.

After serious attempts to achieve his goal were unsuccessful, the Citizens are now one step away from ascending to the continental podium.

Over the past 10 years, Manchester City has established itself as a terrifying force in the Premier League that has claimed its title 5 times since then.

And now he has to complete his reign by winning the European title, in order to join the list of English clubs that lifted the cup with ears.

Throughout the history of the tournament, with all its names, English clubs have won the Champions League 13 times, distributed among only 5 teams.

The sway of Liverpool

The English team that has won the Champions League the most is Liverpool, which holds the English record with 6 titles, the first of which was in 1977, when they beat Borussia Monchengladbach 3-1 at the Olympic Stadium in Rome, led by legendary coach Bob Paisley.

Liverpool retained the title in the following year, after needing a single goal from Scottish star Kenny Dalglish, to beat Belgium’s Club Brugge (1-0) in the ancient “Wembley” stadium.

In 1981, Liverpool won their third Champions League title, led by coach Paisley, when they beat Real Madrid with a clean goal scored by Alan Kennedy at the “Princes Park” in the French capital, Paris.

Liverpool waited another 3 years to win their fourth title, this time under coach Joe Fagan, and used penalties to beat Roma (4-3), after the original and additional match time ended 1-1 in Rome’s Olympic Stadium.

And after the competition system changed in the 1992-1993 season, Liverpool won the title twice, the first was through a legendary mad night in Istanbul in 2005, when he returned from 3-0 down against Milan, to a draw, and then won a penalty shootout, under the leadership of Spaniard Rafael Benitez.

Finally, the German coach Juergen Klopp crowned his efforts with Liverpool, by leading him to win his sixth title in 2019, at the expense of Tottenham 2-0, which were scored by Mohamed Salah and Divock Origi.

Glories of United

Manchester United won the title 3 times, and his first title was like his birth certificate at the European level, after he defeated Benfica and his star Eusebio 4-1 in “Wembley” after the extension in 1968, in a match during which legendary Bobby Charlton scored two goals.

United waited 31 years to win their second title, when he turned the tables on Bayern Munich in the final moments, with two goals by Teddy Sheringham and Solskjaer (2-1), in one of the most dramatic matches in the history of the game, under the leadership of Sir Alex Ferguson.

United won their second title under the banner of Ferguson, in 2008, when they defeated Chelsea on penalties 6-5, after the match ended 1-1.

Forgotten champions

For his part, Nottingham Forest emerged as a feared English powerhouse in the late 1970s and early 1980s, especially during the reign of strict coach Brian Clough, who led the team to win the Champions League twice in a row in 1979 and 1980.

The first title for Nottingham Forest came at the expense of Malmo with a clean goal scored by Trevor Francis at the Olympic Stadium in Munich, and the second after he beat Hamburg at the Santiago Bernabeu 1-0 with John Robertson’s goal.

Aston Villa also won the continental championship title once, and that was in the 1982 version when they beat Peter Wyeth 1-0 against Bayern Munich at Stade de Quib, the stronghold of Feyenoord,

and Chelsea, City’s rival, in the final of the 2020-2021 edition, entered the list of champions in 2012 When he beat Bayern Munich in their home turf with penalties 4-3, after the end of the original and overtime times with a 1-1 draw.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments